Odisha Captain Govind Poddar Selected In Indian Cricket Team ‘Red’; Will Play Against Rohit Sharma’s Team ‘Blue’ In Deodhar Trophy!


While the experienced Rohit Sharma is hoping to prove his courage to the national selectors when he wears the captain’s cap for India ‘Blue’ in the Deodhar Trophy 2017. Odisha Ranji team captain and Rourkela born Govind Poddar has effectively discover his place in the India ‘Red’ cricket team and he’s the only one from Odisha this year to play in the tournament.

The India ‘Red’ team will be captained by wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel. Govind Poddar has scored 471 runs in 9 matches in the current Ranji Trophy season which included a century and 2 half centuries. In Vijay Hazare trophy, Poddar scored 359 runs in 6 matches with 2 centuries and 2 half centuries. Govind Poddar will be sharing the dressing room with other esteemed players such as Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey,Dhawal Kulkarni, & Ashok Dinda.

Here’s the complete list of both the squads:

India ‘Blue’: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Harbhajan Singh, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao

India ‘Red’: Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Kedar Jadhav, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published.