Do You Know The Odisha Players Who Recently Won SportsLogOn Award. Check Out Here!!

2 min

One of the popular sports websites of Odisha,, has celebrated its 6th Anniversary recently at JaydevBhawan, Bhubaneshwar. Being a puppet of The Good Samaritan Trust, it humbly pulled off one of the noblest act of felicitating the renowned sports-persons of the State. RutuparnaChaoudhry, Pratyasa Ray, Soundarya Pradhan GopinathSethi, RamuriSingray had the opportunity of being felicitated on this occasion.

RutuparnaChaoudhry, junior tennis player, was awarded with the KumudiniKridaPrativa award which included a trophy and cash prize of 10,000 INR. She is the first to play in the Kolkata Tennis League and her name is among the first to flash when we talk about Odisha’s tennis. She has 35 All India Tennis Association (AITA) titles under her belt and this includes 25 singles.

Pratyasa Ray, swimmer from Odisha, was awarded with young emerging player of the year – the award couldn’t have deserved any better awardee! She won two Gold and a silver in the 62nd National School Games held at Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Swimming Pool in Gujarat, last year. She surprised us again in the South Asian Aquatic Championships by grabbing four gold and a silver in the Under-15 girls category at Sugathadasa Indoor Swimming Pool Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Goosebumps would be the least of the compliments when it comes to the achievements of Soundarya Pradhan, Dibyang Chess player with vision impairment. He won Bronze in the Asia Pacific Chess Championship for Visually Challenged players. He was the seventh in ranking of World Junior Chess Championship for the Blind. His brother Prachurjya collected the sports person of the year award on his behalf.

GopinathSethi, a.k.aSethi Sir is yet to see his athletes win a medal in the sports field but with the excellence in his guiding abilities, he has managed to train youth for placement in State Police department. He is busy crafting patriots and was felicitated with best coach of all time award.

Government is now taking initiatives of recognizing players who are now not in their youth to perform but have their impressions in the past. RamuriSingray, a boxer, was on his peak during 1985 – 1995 representing State and Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP) in the field of boxing but was never recognized by the State. His selfless dedication for his passion paid off on this eve as his name was called upon for the players of Bygone Era award.

Sports and Youth Services Department Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev, New Indian Express Editor SrimoyKar, SN Group MP PrabodhMohanty, AngulSukind Railways Pvt Ltd MD DillipSamantray, Chief General Manager Civil MCL Satya Siva Sundar Panda, Manager Personnel MCL Sritam Das, Former Women footballer SradhanjaliSamantray, Trustee Nanda KishorPatnaik and Secretary Tanmay Das were present to acknowledge the achievements of these sportsmen who spend their life doing what they do best and make our State and Country proud.


Like it? Share with your friends!



error: Content is protected !!